How does your garden grow?

It is spring time in the mid-atlantic states and that means time to plan and plant your garden.

I gave my brother a book for Christmas titled “All New Square Foot Gardening”.  I skimmed through the book to make sure it would be something that he would like and was so intrigued by the process that I went out and bought my own copy.

Being the procrastinating self that I am, I waited till the last minute to put in my garden.  Part of the square foot garden is to build boxes.  I already had a garden bed so I decided to use that.  Also, there is “Mel’s Mix” soil.  It consists of 1/3 compost, 1/3 peat moss, and 1/3 vermiculite.  Well, I had no problem with the compost and peat moss but I could not find the vermiculite locally.  I thought this was really strange because it is a natural resource of Virginia!  So I used “Jeff’s Mix” which is Mel’s mix without the vermiculite.   I will try harder next year!

Jeff's Mix

Jeff's Mix

An interesting note about compost.  The book suggest that you use 3 to 5 different kinds of compost because the make up is different by manufacturer.  Mixing them gives you a better compost.  I could only find 3 different kinds so I am hoping for the best.

Blocking the Weeds!

Blocking the Weeds!

I use weed block fabric to cut down on the weeds.  It seems like I have an over abundance of them and they find there way into my garden in no time.  I used this 2 years ago and it really helped so I was hooked.  The pavers are for walking on and holding down the fabric.

My Garden

My Garden

Here is my garden all complete.  This year I am growing Tomatoes, Bell Peppers, Jalapeno Peppers, Green Beans, and Beets.  I also threw in some marigolds.  I read somewhere that they emit a scent that destructive bugs do not like.  Plus it brightens the place up a little till the veggies get big and tall.

Well, I will post more when things start to grow.

One response to “How does your garden grow?

  1. I would like to see am updated photo of how its growing posted.
    Va. beach, was a farming community in the past.

Leave a Reply

